Training hike #2: Big Ben Loop in Fall Creek Unit

Scott had to work today so I did my training hike solo (and in the rain!). This hike is close to home in Felton and very pretty.

IMG_4065
The woods were super lush and green from all the recent rain we’ve had
IMG_4066
Shoe selfie! These were new shoes (Merrell Moab Ventilators) that I tried out for the first time on this hike. I liked them, but did get small heel blisters! 

This is the tree I was aiming for (Big Ben). Not because I’m very impressed by big trees anymore (jaded from 6 years in Santa Cruz?). BUT it was great because I ate lunch inside the tree sheltered from the rain.

IMG_4078
The water was high and the weather couldn’t make up its mind, so the woods were a gorgeous mix of sun and fog and rain 

Stats:

  • 9 miles
  • 2000 feet of elevation gain
  • Highest elevation: 1900 feet
  • Number of times I ended up ankle deep in the river: 2
Leave a Reply

